CofC Logo

Project Teams and Committees

Purpose and Membership

Project Team

  • Hanbury Evans Wright Vlattas (Lead Planners)
  • Watson Tate Savory Liollio Architecture (Associate Architects)
  • Sextant Group (Technology Planners)
  • Affiliated Engineers Inc. (Infrastructure Planners)
  • Paulien & Associates, Inc. (Space Planners)
  • Thomas & Hutton Engineering (Civil Engineers)
  • DesignWorks (Landscape Planners)

Executive Committee

The group provided policy and decision-making leadership for the planning process. The Committee monitored the progress and direction of the plan. It reviewed recommendations made at every major phase of the process and made decisions regarding these recommendations. Finally, it ensured alignment between the strategic plan and the facilities plan.

  • George Benson, President, College of Charleston
  • Steve Osborne, Executive Vice President for Business Affairs
  • George Hynd, Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs
  • Victor Wilson, Executive Vice President for Student Affairs
  • George Watt, Executive Vice President for Institutional Advancement
  • Monica Scott, Vice President for Facilities Planning
  • Jimmy Hightower, Chair, Board of Trustees Facilities Committee
  • Sherwood Miler, Representative, Alumni Board of Directors
  • Gus Gustafson, Chair, College of Charleston Foundation

Steering Committee

The group provided institutional knowledge and input to the consultants to inform and guide the planning process. Additionally, the Committee communicated its progress to the stakeholders each represents. The Committee's role wascritically important as it provided invaluable insight at the operational level and acted as a means for information to flow into and out of the planning process. Finally, the Committee informed and evaluated the recommendations of the consultants as they are developed.

  • Bev Diamond, Senior Vice Provost
  • Lynne Ford, Associate Provost for Curriculum and Academic Administration
  • Lynn Cherry, Speaker of the Faculty
  • Mike Auerbach, Dean, School of Sciences & Mathematics
  • Bob Cape, Senior Vice President for Information Technology
  • John Cordray, Physical Plant Director
  • John Campbell, Dean of Residence Life
  • Gene Sessoms, Director of Campus Recreational Services
  • Jeri Cabot, Dean of Students
  • Laura Lageman, Associate Athletic Director
  • Chris Tobin, Vice President for Development
  • Jack Huguley, Director of Alumni Affairs
  • Jan Brewton, Director of Business and Auxiliary Services
  • Alyson Goff, Executive Assistant for Business Affairs
  • Stanfield Gray, Director of Strategic Communications
  • Elliott Wright, Student Government Association President